Twelve leaders win second Community Sustainability Award

Sustain Charlotte announced the winners of its second annual Community Sustainability Awards on Saturday at the 7th Street Public Market in uptown Charlotte.

Leaders of local nonprofits, government agencies, businesses and schools were recognized for their efforts to help realize Charlotte 2030: A Sustainable Vision for Our Region.

Mayor Anthony Foxx was a special guest who provided opening remarks, and Michael Smith, CEO of Charlotte Center City Partners, was the keynote speaker.

Here are the winners, along with the category in which they were honored:

• Air Quality: Leslie Rhodes with Mecklenburg County Air Quality.
• Buildings and Homes: Craig Lewis with the Lawrence Group.
• Economy: Shannon Johnson with Cabarrus County government.
• Energy: Phil Berman with Charlotte Mecklenburg Schools.
• Food: Cassie Parson with Harvest Moon Grille.
• Parks and Green Space: Jim Garges with Mecklenburg County Park and Recreation.
• Waste: Jennifer White with Mecklenburg County Waste Management Advisory Board.
• Social Equity: Barney Offerman with Saint Peter’s Catholic Church Social Justice Committee.
• Transportation: Ray Atkinson with UNC Charlotte Cyclists Club.
• Water Quality: Rick Gaskins with Catawba Riverkeeper Foundation.

Sustain Charlotte also named Bill Gupton (with Piedmont Sierra Club) Overall Outstanding Leader and Regina Guyer (with UNC Charlotte IDEAS Center) Outstanding Educator.

“Our progress towards sustainability is the result of many, yet some individuals in our community are leading the way with very little recognition for their leadership,” Shannon Binns, founder and executive director of Sustain Charlotte, said. “We think it is important to honor these leaders and the amazing work that they/ do for the benefit of us all.”

Read more here


Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.